born of God

John 1:12-13 Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God— children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.

I wanted to express my thoughts on youth ministry, how to endure in doing it and debate the trends in my blogging. So where do I begin? I begin with God. Not unique, but essential for me.

I got into youth ministry by accident, not intentionally. I was a youth when God called me to something, I didn’t know what at the time. But the call came to me when I realized the God of the Universe, the Creator, loved me and invited me to know I AM.

Years later when I was struggling with the call to youth ministry and wondering if I should be doing something else I had one of the “God moments” where you ask for a “word” and you get it in an unexpected way. I was sitting outside on a college campus during a respite on a summer mission trip. I was tired, discouraged and feeling alone. I had been waiting on the “word.” I got three of them. I heard these words, but no one was speaking. “Child of God,” was what I heard. I have gone back to that moment, that phrase, that invitation, the affirmation, many times over the years.

Why do I do youth ministry?  There are a lot of good reasons.   A key one for me is knowing that I am a child of the Living God, Almighty, Creator of the heavens and the earth, the Alpha and Omega.   Knowing that I am loved as a child by God gives me the desire to love other of God’s children.  It motivates me. 

Maybe I do this work with teenagers since I remember the need, blessing and privilege it was to discover this myself as a teen.  I know that each time I remember this, I am motivated to do the work of my Father. 

Luke 2:49 The words of Jesus, “And He said to them, “Why did you seek me? Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?”

About oldhorse

Youth ministry veteran with learned degrees, but mostly life experience and horse sense
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment